I've never done it this way before but according to Delia it's a great way to do it. ), The Spruce Eats uses cookies to provide you with a great user experience. After some research I discovered that there weren’t any recipes for slow cooked beetroot so I made an educated guess that 3 hours cooking on high would be about right. You can also preheat the oven to 140C/120C Fan/Gas 1, wash the lids and jars in hot water and place them in the oven for 15 minutes. So if you’ve never cooked your own beetroot then I can’t recommend this easy and simple cooking method enough. Slice or dice the roasted beets and use them as a side dish, or add them to a salad. Plus, it wastes less of the beet — and reducing food waste and improving sustainability is something The Produce Moms and Josie’s Organics believe strongly in. Spoon the chutney into the prepared jars. Optional: Top with your favorite herbs, like thyme, tarragon, parsley, or oregano. Wrap up tightly in foil. https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/spiced-beetroot-orange-chutney Bring a large saucepan of water to the boil over a high heat. How do you like to enjoy roasted beets? No standing over the stove. Store in a cool, dark cupboard for up to a year. Wrap each beet individually in aluminum foil. Unlike boiled beets, roasted … Bring to a gentle … Storage Tip: Slow cooker roasted beets can be made ahead of time and stored for later use. The skins will peel right off. Bring to the boil, then simmer for 30–40 minutes until just tender – this will depend on their size. Roast the beets and remove the stems and skins. Boil for 20 minutes until the apples and onions are tender and the mixture is golden brown. Or, add roasted beets to potato salad for a burst of sweetness and color. Drain and allow to cool fully before peeling and chopping. To preserve. Save beet greens for another use.  -  It makes a great barbecue relish for just about anything and is a wonderful partner to cheese. Remove from the heat and stir in the beetroot.